DIY Doggie Bow Tie

Pacey looking dapper in his brand new bow tie

Pacey looking dapper in his brand new bow tie

Last week I stumbled upon a really cool tutorial on how to sew your own kid-sized bow tie on a blog called “A Lemon Squeezy Home.”  I’d seen these types of tutorials before, but I thought this one was particularly well done. The size of the bow tie and its Velcro closure made this particular pattern easy to use as a dog bow tie, so I decided to try making one for Pacey.  I followed the instructions, except I cut the pattern pieces a little bit smaller to be exactly Pacey-sized. Please visit http://www.lemonsqueezyhome.com/2010/04/bow-tie-tutorial.html for the full tutorial.

I consider myself fairly crafty, but I am new to sewing. I do own my own sewing machine, but I am a very, very, very novice sewer. However, these bow tie instructions proved super easy to follow, even for me. And for my first attempt I think that Pacey’s new bow tie is pretty frickin’ adorable. In the spirit of full disclosure, I did cheat a little bit when I made it . . . I didn’t sew the extra pleats into the bow itself. I also didn’t actually hem the ends of the collar, because Pacey’s fur is long enough that it’ll never show, and I hot glued the Velcro pieces on instead of sewing them nicely as the tutorial instructs. I used a sewing machine, but this is a small enough project that you could really sew it by hand if you wanted to take the time and effort. It took me less than an hour from start to finish—again, I’m a beginner–so it’s a great little project for a Saturday afternoon. This bow tie would be extremely cute for your dog to wear for a wedding celebration, on holidays like Easter or Christmas, or for any other formal occasion on his/her busy social calendar. It would also make a sweet homemade gift for a fellow dog-lover.

Here are the materials I started with.

Here are the materials I started with.

And here's the finished product. Not too shabby, if I do say so myself.

And here’s the finished product. Not too shabby, if I do say so myself.

5 responses

Leave a Reply

