Peanut Butter Crisscross Cookies

With Mother’s Day just a few days away, I’ve been thinking about all of the wonderful memories that I have of baking with my mom when I was growing up. She is a very talented baker and was the one who inspired me to go to culinary school to study baking and pastry arts. When I was still too little to handle cracking eggs or measuring flour, I remember my mom letting me use a fork to make the crisscrosses on top of the peanut butter cookies. I was always so excited to be able to help, and it was so gratifying to make each crisscross look just so—an early sign of my tendency toward obsessive organization I guess.

These tasty dog treats look just like their human-cookie counterparts but are natural, gluten-free, and wheat-free. I made this recipe for Pacey today, and I have to admit that it was still a treat for me to get to make the crisscrosses.

Peanut Butter Crisscross Cookies

Makes about 30 cookies

 

1/2 cup natural, unsalted peanut butter

1/2 cup water

1 large egg

2 cups brown rice flour

 

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.

2. Place the peanut butter, water, and egg in a bowl and stir well to combine.

3. Add the flour in two additions, stirring well after each addition.

4. Use your hands to press the mixture together until it forms a smooth, homogenous dough.

5. Use a tablespoon to scoop the dough into portions. Roll each scoop into a ball, and arrange the balls of dough on an ungreased baking sheet.

6. Lightly press the tines of a fork on the top of each ball of dough, flattening the ball into a cookie shape and creating a pattern of parallel lines on top. Turn the fork 90 degrees, and press the tines into the dough once again to form a crisscross pattern on top of each cookie.

7. Bake until the edges are golden brown, about 21 minutes. When done baking, turn the oven off, leave the cookies inside the oven with the door cracked, and allow the cookies to dry out for about 2 hours.

 

These treats may be stored in an airtight container at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

