Cat Treats

I feel like recently I have been inundated with people asking me if I will make CAT treats. I shouldn’t really be surprised that “crazy cat people” want to pamper their pets as much as we “crazy dog people” but, being a true crazy dog person, I guess I hadn’t really thought much about cat treats before. So, by popular demand, here is my first cat treat recipe.

These treats only have three ingredients but are packed with fishy flavor. Since this is my first attempt I wanted to stick to a flavor that is fairly universally loved by cats, but I don’t relish the messiness of working with raw seafood, so I decided to use freeze-dried ocean whitefish. I really like PureBites brand, and I have found it to be readily available in my local pet stores. Whatever brand you choose to use, just be sure that the only ingredient listed on the package is fish. You could also easily substitute an equal amount of a different freeze-dried seafood or meat (like shrimp, chicken, or turkey) in this recipe without a problem.

The kitty taste-testers that I sent my treats to may disagree, but I suspect that the cookie cutter that I used was a little too large for cat-sized mouths. It is about 1 inch long and 1/2 to 3/4 inch wide. You will probably want to use a smaller sized cutter, but remember that that will increase the yield that is listed below.

 Cat Treats

Cat Treats

Makes about 100 (1-inch) treats

 

About 1/2 oz freeze-dried whitefish, or as needed

3 cups brown rice flour

1 1/2 cups water

 

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.

2. Place the freeze-dried whitefish in a blender or food processor, and process it into a fine powder. Transfer 1/2 cup of the powder in a mixing bowl. Store the remainder of the powder in an airtight container for later use.

3. Add the rice flour to the whitefish powder, and stir to combine.

4. Add the water to the dry ingredients. Stir to combine, and then continue kneading the mixture by hand until it forms a smooth dough.

5. Lightly dust the countertop with rice flour, and roll the dough out into a sheet about 1/4-inch thick. Use your desired cutter to cut the dough into pieces. Arrange the pieces on a baking sheet.

6. Bake until the treats are firm to the touch, about 20 minutes. If desired, flip the treats over halfway through the baking time to ensure even browning.

 

Note:

I used two small (0.28 oz) bags of PureBites Ocean Whitefish Cat Treats in order to grind the necessary 1/2 cup of powder.

One response

Leave a Reply

